When Windsor's father came to watch a performance, she was ridiculed by the others as her father had begun working as a trolley bus conductor and had come in his uniform. Family: She married her third husband, Scott Mitchell, in 2000. Barbara Windsor had encounters with Maurice Gibb (1970), George Best and John Bindon. She is Movies (Actress) by profession. The girls there had money; I once overheard them talking about my dad being a bus conductor, saying: Youd think hed be ashamed. I went bananas, chucking a big tin of theatrical face powder all over them. Two weeks later I filmed my line: Can I have a cherry red lipstick?. Barbaras maternal grandfather was Charlie Ellis, a docker who liked his drink "and when he was tipsy, I always knew he was good for a few pennies for a jam doughnut" but also entertained in the local pubs as a singer. She looked so vulnerable. Now in exclusive extracts from her memoir All Of Me, the legendary actress tells the story in her words. In 1965, 12 years after the court case, a woman approached her in the street saying she was married to John and that he wanted to see his only child. [26], One of her best known scenes was in Carry On Camping (1969), where her bikini top flew off during outdoor aerobic exercises. ", Don't miss out on the biggest soaps gossip! Barbara Windsor in Carry On Doctor (1967), one of her nine appearances in the Carry On series. Underworld types evidently reminded Windsor of her father, who was absent from her life for decades after he walked out of the family home when she was 15. [76][77][78], Windsor's funeral took place on 8 January 2021. Something went wrong, please try again later. First they insisted I undressed in front of them. For three years the development of the illness was gradual, but soon after her 80th birthday her condition deteriorated considerably and she withdrew from public life. We had the same raucous laugh and Mummy hated it. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our u